term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

The Portuguese School Holidays and Term Dates Calendar


The School Holiday Dates and Term Dates Calendar in Portugal are decided by the Portuguese Ministry of Education. The School Year starts in early September. There is the Christmas Holiday followed by a few days holiday in February to celebrate the Carnival and at Easter the schools are closed for two weeks for the Easter Holiday. The Summer Holiday in Portugal lasts for about three months, from June to September.

2016/2017 The Portuguese School Holidays and Term Dates Calendar


Term / Holiday Year Group First Day Last Day
Back to School All Years Friday, September 9 2016
Christmas Holiday All Years Saturday, December 17 2016 Monday, January 2 2017
Carnival Holiday All Years Monday, February 27 2017 Tuesday, February 28 2017
Easter Holiday All Years Wednesday, April 5 2017 Tuesday, April 18 2017
Summer Holidays 9th, 11th & 12th Years Tuesday 6 June, 2017
Summer Holidays 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th Years Friday 23 June, 2017
Summer Holidays Pre School Friday 30 June, 2017
Summer Holidays 5th, 6th, 7th & 8th Years Sunday 16 July, 2017
The Portuguese Data Source