term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Leicestershire Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Leicestershire Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Leicestershire LEA.


Leicestershire Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Leicestershire LEA.

2016/2017 Leicestershire Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Thursday August 25, 2016 Friday October 14, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 24, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Wednesday January 4, 2017 Friday February 10, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 20, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 14, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Leicestershire Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Wednesday August 23, 2017 Friday October 13, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 23, 2017 Wednesday December 20, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 9, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Friday March 23, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 9, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Friday July 13, 2018
Summer Holidays

FREE Vouchers

Childrens Entertainer Leicester Vouchers Deals

10% OFF

Childrens Entertainer Leicester

Redeem Now
Huntfun Leicester Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Leicester Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Pink Pixie Parties Leicester Vouchers Deals

15% OFF

Pink Pixie Parties Leicester

Redeem Now
Leicester Outdoor Pursuits Centre Vouchers Deals

UP TO 15% OFF

Leicester Outdoor Pursuits Centre

Redeem Now
Skaters Club Leicester Vouchers Deals

50% OFF SKATE HIRE

Skaters Club Leicester

Redeem Now
Stretton Circuit Vouchers Deals

£5 OFF ANY SESSION

Stretton Circuit

Redeem Now
Paintball Derby Vouchers Deals

30% OFF ENTRY

Paintball Derby

Redeem Now
Rebel Sports Vouchers Deals

50 FREE PAINTBALLS

Rebel Sports

Redeem Now

Things To Do

geocaching children

Geocaching Locations for Children

View Now
geocaching children

FREE Family Festivals in July & August

View Now
geocaching children

The Best Farms to Visit in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

Make School Holidays Educational

View Now
geocaching children

Top 11 Theme Parks in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

The Top 7 Zoo’s in the UK

View Now

Term Time Holiday Law

geocaching children

High Court Victory for Parents

View Now
geocaching children

Law on Term Time Holidays?

View Now
geocaching children

Staggering School Holidays

View Now

Leicestershire Count Council is responsible for schools within the county of Leicestershire, excluding those within the city of Leicester, which are controlled by the city council. It is a non-metropolitan council with 52 wards and is based in County Hall in Glenfield. Schools total 316 – 226 primary and 62 secondary, 1 nursery, 12 special schools and 5 further education colleges. Loughborough University is also within the county area. School year begins on 25th August and has the October half term from 17th to 21st October. They close for Christmas from 16th December until 4th January and after this, the spring term runs until 7th April and includes the February half term from 13th to 17th of the month. Easter holidays run from 7th April until 24th April and there is a break on 1st May then the May half term from 29th May until 2nd June. School ends for the year on 14th July.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Leicestershire are decided by the individual schools. Leicestershire Data Source

Inset Days