term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Bedford Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Bedford Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Bedford LEA.


Bedford Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Bedford LEA.

2016/2017 Bedford Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 5, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 10, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 20, 2017 Tuesday April 4, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Tuesday April 18, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Bedford Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Tuesday December 19, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 2, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Friday July 20, 2018
Summer Holidays

Schools within Bedford and the surrounding area fall under the Bedford Borough Council and they are responsible for setting term and holiday dates. Currently, there are 53 primary schools, 25 secondary schools and two nurseries within the zone as well as three special schools. Some of these schools have been permitted to set their own holiday dates but the rest adhere to the council’s calendar. This includes the start of the school year on 3rd September with the October half term from 24th to 28th October. The Christmas holiday 2016 runs from 19th December through to 2nd January and the February half term is on 13th – 17th of the month. Easter is from 5th to 17th April and the May half term is on 30th may through to 2nd June. School year ends on 21st July when the summer holidays 2017 will last until the start of the next school year.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Bedford are decided by the individual schools. Bedford Data Source

Inset Days