term time holiday law
FREE Vouchers The National Register of Term Dates & School Holidays for 30,000 Schools The National Register for 30,000 Schools

Essex Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Essex Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Essex LEA.


Essex Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Essex LEA.

2016/2017 Essex Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Thursday September 1, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Wednesday December 21, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Thursday January 5, 2017 Friday February 10, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 20, 2017 Friday March 31, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Tuesday April 18, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Essex Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Wednesday December 20, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 2, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Friday July 20, 2018
Summer Holidays

FREE Vouchers

Annie Allsorts Essex Vouchers Deals

15% OFF

Annie Allsorts Essex

Redeem Now
Huntfun Chelmsford Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Chelmsford Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Creepy Crawlies Chelmsford Vouchers Deals

BUY 1 GET 1 FREE

Creepy Crawlies Chelmsford

Redeem Now
Snakes Alive Vouchers Deals

10% OFF

Snakes Alive

Redeem Now
Rope Runners Vouchers Deals

50% OFF

Rope Runners

Redeem Now
Huntfun Braintree Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Braintree Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Paintball Southend Vouchers Deals

30% OFF ENTRY

Paintball Southend

Redeem Now
Huntfun Bishops Stortford Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Bishops Stortford Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now

Things To Do

geocaching children

Geocaching Locations for Children

View Now
geocaching children

FREE Family Festivals in July & August

View Now
geocaching children

The Best Farms to Visit in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

Make School Holidays Educational

View Now
geocaching children

Top 11 Theme Parks in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

The Top 7 Zoo’s in the UK

View Now

Term Time Holiday Law

geocaching children

High Court Victory for Parents

View Now
geocaching children

Law on Term Time Holidays?

View Now
geocaching children

Staggering School Holidays

View Now

Essex County Council is one of the biggest in the UK based on population and is responsible for the schools within the area. There is a total of 629 schools falling under the council including 486 primaries, 94 secondaries and 2 nurseries. There are 27 special schools and seven further education colleges as well as two universities – Anglia Polytechnic University and the University of Essex in Chelmsford and Colchester respectively. The school year starts on 1st September and has a break for the October half term from 24th to 28th of the month. It then runs until 21st December where there are the Christmas holidays 2016. After Christmas, the term resumes on 5th January until 31st March with the February half term from 13th to 17th. The final term of the year, summer, starts after the Easter break 2017 on 18th April and runs until 21st July with the midterm break on 29th May to June 2nd.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Essex are decided by the individual schools. Essex Data Source

Inset Days