term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Middlesbrough Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Middlesbrough Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Middlesbrough LEA.


Middlesbrough Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Middlesbrough LEA.

2016/2017 Middlesbrough Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Friday September 2, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Middlesbrough Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Friday December 22, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Monday January 8, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Monday July 23, 2018
Summer Holidays

FREE Vouchers

Rock Antics Middlesbrough Vouchers Deals

50% OFF

Rock Antics Middlesbrough

Redeem Now
Wild Animal Adventures Vouchers Deals

33% ENTRY

Wild Animal Adventures

Redeem Now
Huntfun Stockton On Tees Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Stockton On Tees Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Noahs Ark Family Centre Vouchers Deals

20% OFF ENTRY

Noahs Ark Family Centre

Redeem Now
The Play Factory Thornaby Vouchers Deals

£2 OFF

The Play Factory Thornaby

Redeem Now
Funky Monkeys Vouchers Deals

2 FOR THE PRICE OF 1

Funky Monkeys

Redeem Now
Huntfun Redcar Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Redcar Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Wynyard Outdoor Leisure Vouchers Deals

50% OFF

Wynyard Outdoor Leisure

Redeem Now

Things To Do

geocaching children

Geocaching Locations for Children

View Now
geocaching children

FREE Family Festivals in July & August

View Now
geocaching children

The Best Farms to Visit in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

Make School Holidays Educational

View Now
geocaching children

Top 11 Theme Parks in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

The Top 7 Zoo’s in the UK

View Now

Term Time Holiday Law

geocaching children

High Court Victory for Parents

View Now
geocaching children

Law on Term Time Holidays?

View Now
geocaching children

Staggering School Holidays

View Now

Middlesbrough and the surrounding area is overseen by Middlesbrough Borough Council who are responsible for setting school holiday dates and organising other services. There are some 61 schools within the council area, of which 41 are primary schools and 8 are secondary schools. There are also four special schools, three further education colleges and the University of Teesside. The latter two categories can set their own dates for terms. This academic year starts on 1st September with the first autumn term running until 16th December. There is a holiday for the October half term from 24th to 28th. The spring term starts after Christmas holidays 2016 on 2nd January and continues until Easter starts on 7th April with a break from February 20th to 24th. The latest summer term starts after the Easter break on 24th April and continues until summer holidays start on 21st July. There is a half term from 29th May until 2nd June.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Middlesbrough are decided by the individual schools. Middlesbrough Data Source

Inset Days