term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Sunderland Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Sunderland Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Sunderland LEA.


Sunderland Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Sunderland LEA.

2016/2017 Sunderland Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 5, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Wednesday January 4, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Sunderland Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Friday December 22, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Monday January 8, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Friday July 20, 2018
Summer Holidays

FREE Vouchers

Skaters Club Sunderland Vouchers Deals

50% OFF SKATE HIRE

Skaters Club Sunderland

Redeem Now
Go Bananas Vouchers Deals

2 FOR THE PRICE OF 1

Go Bananas

Redeem Now
Karting North East Vouchers Deals

£5 OFF

Karting North East

Redeem Now
Skaters Club South Tyneside Vouchers Deals

50% OFF SKATE HIRE

Skaters Club South Tyneside

Redeem Now
Mister Twisters Wacky World of Fun Vouchers Deals

2 FOR THE PRICE OF 1

Mister Twisters Wacky World of Fun

Redeem Now
Bill Quay Community Farm Vouchers Deals

10% OFF IN THE CAFE

Bill Quay Community Farm

Redeem Now
Skaters Club North Shields Vouchers Deals

15 KIDS FREE

Skaters Club North Shields

Redeem Now
Pots and Pancakes Vouchers Deals

10% OFF

Pots and Pancakes

Redeem Now

Things To Do

geocaching children

Geocaching Locations for Children

View Now
geocaching children

FREE Family Festivals in July & August

View Now
geocaching children

The Best Farms to Visit in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

Make School Holidays Educational

View Now
geocaching children

Top 11 Theme Parks in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

The Top 7 Zoo’s in the UK

View Now

Term Time Holiday Law

geocaching children

High Court Victory for Parents

View Now
geocaching children

Law on Term Time Holidays?

View Now
geocaching children

Staggering School Holidays

View Now

Sunderland City Council is the local authority responsible for schools within the city of Sunderland and surrounding areas of Tyne & Wear. It is one of the five councils that make up the county and is responsible for 130 schools. These include 84 primary and 20 secondary schools, 9 nurseries, 9 special schools, two further education colleges and one university, the University of Sunderland. The latter two categories can set their own half term dates. For the coming year, school begins on 5th September. The autumn term includes October half term from 24th for one week and finishes for Christmas on 16th December. Christmas holidays 2016 finish on 4th January and the spring term lasts until 7th April with a break from 20th February for one week. Easter break 2017 runs from 7th until 24th April and the final summer term finishes on 21st July with a break for May half term from 29th May.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Sunderland are decided by the individual schools. Sunderland Data Source

Inset Days