term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Manchester Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Manchester Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Manchester LEA.


Manchester Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Manchester LEA.

2016/2017 Manchester Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Thursday September 1, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 23, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Monday January 9, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday March 31, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Tuesday April 18, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Manchester Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Friday December 15, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 2, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Friday July 20, 2018
Summer Holidays

Manchester City Council is the body responsible for the schools within the city area and is a metropolitan borough within Greater Manchester. The council controls a total of 214 schools including 135 primary, 41 secondary and 2 nurseries, 15 special schools, 6 further education colleges and three universities, including the University of Manchester. The universities set their own half term dates and schools do have some flexibility around exact dates. The school year starts 1st September until 23rd December for the Christmas holiday 2016 and the October half term runs 24th to 28th. The spring term starts 9th January until 31st March and includes February half term running from 20th to 24th of the month. The final term, summer, starts after the Easter holidays 2017 on 17th April and continues until the start of the summer holidays on 21st July with a break for the May half term 29th May – 2nd June.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Manchester are decided by the individual schools. Manchester Data Source

Inset Days