term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Wigan Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Wigan Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Wigan LEA.


Wigan Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Wigan LEA.

2016/2017 Wigan Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Tuesday September 6, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 23, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 10, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday March 31, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Tuesday April 18, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Wigan Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Tuesday September 5, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Wednesday December 20, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Wednesday January 3, 2018 Friday February 16, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 26, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Wednesday July 18, 2018
Summer Holidays

FREE Vouchers

Velocity Trampoline Park Wigan Vouchers Deals

20% OFF

Velocity Trampoline Park Wigan

Redeem Now
Paintball Bolton Vouchers Deals

30% OFF ENTRY

Paintball Bolton

Redeem Now
The Crafty Potter Vouchers Deals

FREE STUDIO FEE

The Crafty Potter

Redeem Now
Velocity Trampoline Park Widnes Vouchers Deals

20% OFF

Velocity Trampoline Park Widnes

Redeem Now
Run Around Play Centre Darwen Vouchers Deals

2 FOR THE PRICE OF 1

Run Around Play Centre Darwen

Redeem Now
Earnsdale Farm Riding School Vouchers Deals

50% OFF

Earnsdale Farm Riding School

Redeem Now
Funtastic Play Centre Vouchers Deals

2 FOR THE PRICE OF 1

Funtastic Play Centre

Redeem Now
Go Create Vouchers Deals

20% OFF

Go Create

Redeem Now

Things To Do

geocaching children

Geocaching Locations for Children

View Now
geocaching children

FREE Family Festivals in July & August

View Now
geocaching children

The Best Farms to Visit in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

Make School Holidays Educational

View Now
geocaching children

Top 11 Theme Parks in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

The Top 7 Zoo’s in the UK

View Now

Term Time Holiday Law

geocaching children

High Court Victory for Parents

View Now
geocaching children

Law on Term Time Holidays?

View Now
geocaching children

Staggering School Holidays

View Now

Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council is the local authority for the Wigan area of Greater Manchester and is responsible for school holiday dates and other matters for 139 schools within the area. In this number are 105 primary and 19 secondary schools as well as 2 nurseries, 6 special schools and 2 further education colleges. School term dates are not compulsory but most follow the council calendar. This starts on 5th September for the first term with the first October half term from 24th for one week. Term ends for the Christmas holidays 2016 from 23rd December until 9th January. The next term continues until the Easter break starts on 31st March with a break for the February half term from the 20th for one week. The Easter break finishes on 18th April and the final term lasts until the start of the summer holidays on 21st July with a break for May half term from 29th May.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Wigan are decided by the individual schools. Wigan Data Source

Inset Days