term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

West Lothian Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

West Lothian Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the West Lothian LEA.


West Lothian Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the West Lothian LEA.

2016/2017 West Lothian Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Tuesday August 23, 2016 Friday September 16, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Wednesday September 21, 2016 Friday October 14, 2016
Autumn Half Term Saturday October 15, 2016 Monday October 24, 2016
Autumn Term Dates Tuesday October 25, 2016 Wednesday December 21, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Monday January 9, 2017 Thursday February 9, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Wednesday February 15, 2017 Friday March 31, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Tuesday April 18, 2017 Friday June 30, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 West Lothian Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Tuesday August 22, 2017 Friday October 13, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Tuesday October 24, 2017 Friday December 22, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 9, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Wednesday February 14, 2018 Friday March 23, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 9, 2018 Friday June 29, 2018
Summer Holidays

FREE Vouchers

Boness Motor Museum Vouchers Deals

20% OFF

Boness Motor Museum

Redeem Now
Battlezone Paintball Edinburgh Vouchers Deals

100 FREE PAINTBALLS

Battlezone Paintball Edinburgh

Redeem Now
Paintball Edinburgh Vouchers Deals

30% OFF ENTRY

Paintball Edinburgh

Redeem Now
Paintball Glasgow Vouchers Deals

30% OFF ENTRY

Paintball Glasgow

Redeem Now
The Ghost Bus Tour Edinburgh Vouchers Deals

£4 SAVING

The Ghost Bus Tour Edinburgh

Redeem Now
Huntfun Edinburgh Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Edinburgh Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Huntfun Stirling Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Stirling Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Huntfun Glasgow Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Glasgow Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now

Things To Do

geocaching children

Geocaching Locations for Children

View Now
geocaching children

FREE Family Festivals in July & August

View Now
geocaching children

The Best Farms to Visit in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

Make School Holidays Educational

View Now
geocaching children

Top 11 Theme Parks in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

The Top 7 Zoo’s in the UK

View Now

Term Time Holiday Law

geocaching children

High Court Victory for Parents

View Now
geocaching children

Law on Term Time Holidays?

View Now
geocaching children

Staggering School Holidays

View Now

West Lothian Council is one of the 32 council areas that divided Scotland and is responsible for setting school holiday dates and other matters for the schools within the area. There are 106 schools in the area, of which 67 are primary and 11 are secondary schools. There are also 19 nurseries, 7 special schools and two further education colleges. These have some flexibility about following the set calendar. This calendar starts on 23rd August and includes breaks in the first term on 16th-20th September and 14th to 24th October. Christmas holidays 2016 run from 21st December to 4th January. The second term includes the February half term from 9th to 15th February and finishes for Easter on 31st March. Easter finishes on 18th April and the final term continues until summer starts on 30th June. There are breaks in the final term for May Day on the 1st and also for regional holidays on either 22nd May, 5th or 13th June, depending on the school.

West Lothian Data Source

Inset Days