term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

East Sussex Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

East Sussex Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the East Sussex LEA.


East Sussex Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the East Sussex LEA.

2016/2017 East Sussex Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Tuesday September 6, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Wednesday December 21, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 10, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 20, 2017 Friday March 31, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Tuesday April 18, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 East Sussex Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Tuesday September 5, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Wednesday December 20, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 2, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Friday July 20, 2018
Summer Holidays

East Sussex County Council covers the no-metropolitan areas of the county of East Sussex and is based in Lewes. The council has a relatively large number of schools within its control and sets school holiday dates for a total of 232 schools. These include 165 primary and 42 secondaries as well as 2 nurseries and 19 special schools. Three further education colleges have the ability to set their own half term dates. For this year, term starts on 6th September and includes the October half term break on 24th -28th of the month. The break for Christmas holidays 2016 starts on 22nd December and finishes on 3rd January. The spring term has the February half term break from 13th – 17th and the term finishes on 31st March. It resumes after the Easter break on 17th April until 21st July with the May half term from 29th May to 2nd June.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in East Sussex are decided by the individual schools. East Sussex Data Source

Inset Days