term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Southampton Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Southampton Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Southampton LEA.


Southampton Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Southampton LEA.

2016/2017 Southampton Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 5, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Tuesday July 25, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Southampton Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Friday September 1, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Thursday December 21, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Thursday January 4, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Friday July 20, 2018
Summer Holidays

Southampton City Council is responsible for education matters within the city, including setting school holiday dates and half term dates. The council is a unitary authority and oversees a total of 89 schools – 57 primary, 16 secondary schools and one nursery as well as eight special schools, one further education college and two universities, the Southampton Solent University and the University of Southampton. For those following the council calendar for term dates, the first term begins on 5th September and lasts until October half term from 24th – 28th then again until the Christmas break starts on 16th December. After Christmas, the spring term starts on January 3rd and runs until the February half term from 20th February for a week. After this it finishes for Easter on 7th April and the summer term resumes on 24th April. This includes the May half term holidays from 29th May for one week and ends on 25th July.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Southampton are decided by the individual schools. Southampton Data Source

Inset Days