term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Gloucestershire Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Gloucestershire Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Gloucestershire LEA.


Gloucestershire Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Gloucestershire LEA.

2016/2017 Gloucestershire Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Thursday September 1, 2016 Wednesday October 19, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 10, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 20, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Tuesday July 25, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Gloucestershire Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Friday December 15, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 2, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Wednesday July 25, 2018
Summer Holidays

Gloucestershire County Council is responsible for schools across the whole of Gloucestershire save the area designated as South Gloucestershire, which has a separate council. The council established that the autumn term should begin on 1st September and there is an October half term from 20th to 28th October. The Christmas holidays 2016 start on 16th December and finished on 3rd January then the spring term includes the February half term from 13th to 17th February. Term ends on 7th April for the Easter break 2017 which ends on 24th April and there is a break for May Day on 1st May. The May half term runs from 29th May until 2nd June and the term ends on 25th July. This applies to 259 primary and 53 secondary schools as well as 18 special schools and 4 further education colleges. The two universities, the Royal Agricultural University and the University of Gloucester, set their own school holiday dates.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Gloucestershire are decided by the individual schools. Gloucestershire Data Source

Inset Days