term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Somerset Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Somerset Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Somerset LEA.


Somerset Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Somerset LEA.

2016/2017 Somerset Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Thursday September 1, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 10, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 20, 2017 Friday March 31, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Tuesday April 18, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Somerset Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Thursday December 21, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Monday January 8, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Friday March 23, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 9, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Tuesday July 24, 2018
Summer Holidays

FREE Vouchers

Huntfun Glastonbury Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Glastonbury Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Huntfun Taunton Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Taunton Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Wookey Hole Caves Vouchers Deals

FREE CHILD ENTRY

Wookey Hole Caves

Redeem Now
Huntfun Wells Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Wells Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Huntfun Weston Super Mare Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Weston Super Mare Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Huntfun Yeovil Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Yeovil Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Huntfun Sherborne Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Sherborne Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now
Coconuts Play and Party Centre Vouchers Deals

50% OFF PARTY EXTRAS

Coconuts Play and Party Centre

Redeem Now

Things To Do

geocaching children

Geocaching Locations for Children

View Now
geocaching children

FREE Family Festivals in July & August

View Now
geocaching children

The Best Farms to Visit in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

Make School Holidays Educational

View Now
geocaching children

Top 11 Theme Parks in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

The Top 7 Zoo’s in the UK

View Now

Term Time Holiday Law

geocaching children

High Court Victory for Parents

View Now
geocaching children

Law on Term Time Holidays?

View Now
geocaching children

Staggering School Holidays

View Now

Somerset County Council is responsible for most of the county and organises areas such as schools holiday dates for the area. It is responsible for a large number of schools, 304 in total, of which there are 220 primary and 50 secondary schools. There are also 16 special schools and 7 further education colleges, though these can set their own half term dates. The council calendar sees the school year begin on 1st September and continues until October 21st for the October half term. It then resumes from 31st October until 16th December when the Christmas holidays 2016 begin. Christmas finishes on 3rd January and the second term includes the February half term from 10th to 20th February then ends for Easter on 31st March. The final summer term starts after the Easter break 2017 on 18th April and includes the May half term from 26th May until 5th June, ending on 25th July.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Somerset are decided by the individual schools. Somerset Data Source

Inset Days