term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Gwynedd Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Gwynedd Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Gwynedd LEA.


Gwynedd Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Gwynedd LEA.

2016/2017 Gwynedd Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Thursday September 1, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Gwynedd Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Friday September 1, 2017 Friday October 27, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday November 6, 2017 Friday December 22, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Monday January 8, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Friday March 23, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 9, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Friday July 20, 2018
Summer Holidays

Gwynedd Council is one of the council areas of Wales and the only in the country were all of the internal work is carried out in Welsh rather than English. The council is responsible for 129 schools in total, 103 primaries and 17 secondaries as well as three special schools, three further education colleges and the Bangor University of Wales, though this can set its own dates. The council has established the school year to start on 1st September with the October half term 24-28th and the end of term Friday 16th for the Christmas holidays 2016. After this, term resumes 3rd January until 7th April and there is a mid term break from 20th to 24th February. The last summer term starts after the Easter break 2017 on 24th April and runs until summer holidays begin on 21st July with the May half term from 29th May to 2nd June.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Gwynedd are decided by the individual schools. Gwynedd Data Source

Inset Days