term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Monmouthshire Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Monmouthshire Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Monmouthshire LEA.


Monmouthshire Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Monmouthshire LEA.

2016/2017 Monmouthshire Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Thursday September 1, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Monmouthshire Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Friday December 15, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 2, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Friday March 23, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 9, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Tuesday July 24, 2018
Summer Holidays

FREE Vouchers

The Playden Vouchers Deals

10% OFF

The Playden

Redeem Now
Ultm8 Warrior South Wales Vouchers Deals

15% OFF

Ultm8 Warrior South Wales

Redeem Now
Go Kart Party Newport Vouchers Deals

10% OFF

Go Kart Party Newport

Redeem Now
Old Down Country Park Vouchers Deals

20% OFF

Old Down Country Park

Redeem Now
Dean Heritage Centre Vouchers Deals

50% OFF

Dean Heritage Centre

Redeem Now
Paintball Bristol Vouchers Deals

30% OFF ENTRY

Paintball Bristol

Redeem Now
Cardiff Golf Centre Vouchers Deals

2 FOR 1 FOR FOOT GOLF

Cardiff Golf Centre

Redeem Now
Huntfun Ross-On-Wye Treasure Hunt Vouchers Deals

25% OFF

Huntfun Ross-On-Wye Treasure Hunt

Redeem Now

Things To Do

geocaching children

Geocaching Locations for Children

View Now
geocaching children

FREE Family Festivals in July & August

View Now
geocaching children

The Best Farms to Visit in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

Make School Holidays Educational

View Now
geocaching children

Top 11 Theme Parks in the UK

View Now
geocaching children

The Top 7 Zoo’s in the UK

View Now

Term Time Holiday Law

geocaching children

High Court Victory for Parents

View Now
geocaching children

Law on Term Time Holidays?

View Now
geocaching children

Staggering School Holidays

View Now

The Welsh county of Monmouthshire is overseen by the Monmouthshire County Council who are responsible for a variety of services including looking after schools and setting school holiday dates. The council covers the eastern half of the historic county and has 42 schools within its area. These are 35 primary and 6 secondary schools as well as one special school. Schools do have some flexibility in terms of Inset days but otherwise follow the council set calendar. This involves starting the first term on 1st September with the October half term 24th – 28th then the end of the term on 16th December. The following term starts 3rd January after the Christmas break and continues until 7th April with the February half term week of the 20th. Easter holidays 2017 run from 7th until 24th April with the last term ending on 21st July with the May half term 29th May for a week.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Monmouthshire are decided by the individual schools. Monmouthshire Data Source

Inset Days