term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Birmingham Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Birmingham Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Birmingham LEA.


Birmingham Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Birmingham LEA.

2016/2017 Birmingham Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 5, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Tuesday July 25, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Birmingham Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Friday December 22, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Monday January 8, 2018 Friday February 16, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 26, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Tuesday July 24, 2018
Summer Holidays

Birmingham City Council is responsible for all of the schools within the city and for the larger metropolitan district, which is home to over one million people and is broken into 40 wards. There are 314 primary schools within the council area along with 110 secondary schools, 28 nurseries, 32 special schools and 8 further education colleges. There are also four universities in the city. These and any academies have the ability to set their own holiday dates while the rest follow the dates set by the council. For the 2016-17 year, this includes October half term from 24th to 28th and the February half term from 20th to 24th of the month. There is also a break in the summer term that runs from May 29th through to June 2nd and includes the May Day Bank Holiday. The school year ends on 25th July 2017 for the 2017 summer holiday.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Birmingham are decided by the individual schools. Birmingham Data Source

Inset Days