term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Sandwell Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Sandwell Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Sandwell LEA.


Sandwell Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Sandwell LEA.

2016/2017 Sandwell Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 5, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Tuesday July 25, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Sandwell Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Wednesday December 20, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 2, 2018 Friday February 16, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 26, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Friday July 20, 2018
Summer Holidays

Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council is one of the local authorities within the West Midlands and is located in Council House, Oldbury. It is divided into 24 wards and oversees 126 schools including 95 primary and 20 secondary, 5 special schools and one further education college, Sandwell College. The college and some schools do have control on setting half term dates while most follow the council calendar. This starts on 5th September with the autumn term that runs until Christmas holidays 2016 start on 19th December and include the October half term week 24th-28th. After Christmas, the spring term starts on 3rd January and continues until Easter starts on 7th April with a break for the February half term from 20th-24th. Easter finishes on 24th April and the final summer term lasts from then until the summer holidays begin on 26th July. Within it is the May half term from 29th May and the May Day Bank Holiday on 1st May.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Sandwell are decided by the individual schools. Sandwell Data Source

Inset Days