term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Shropshire Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Shropshire Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Shropshire LEA.


Shropshire Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Shropshire LEA.

2016/2017 Shropshire Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 5, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Wednesday January 4, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Tuesday July 25, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Shropshire Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Tuesday September 5, 2017 Friday October 20, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 30, 2017 Friday December 15, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Wednesday January 3, 2018 Friday February 16, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 26, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Tuesday July 24, 2018
Summer Holidays

Shropshire Council is the body responsible for local education, school holiday dates and other matters for the schools within the county. It covers some 90% of the county with the remainder falling under the Telford & Wrekin Council. This means the council is responsible for 193 schools – 138 primary, 29 secondary, 12 special schools, 5 further education colleges and the Harper Adams University College in Newport. Some of these can set their own school holiday dates. The general council calendar sees the first autumn term begin on 6th September and run until Christmas holidays 2016 start on 16th December. There is a break for the October half term on the week of the 24th. After Christmas, term resumes for spring on 4th January until Easter stars on 7th April and includes the February half term 20th-24th. finally, Easter finishes on 24th April and the summer term lasts until 21st July with a break for May half term week on 29th May.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Shropshire are decided by the individual schools. Shropshire Data Source

Inset Days