term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Barnsley Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Barnsley Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Barnsley LEA.


Barnsley Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Barnsley LEA.

2016/2017 Barnsley Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 5, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Tuesday July 25, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Barnsley Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 27, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday November 6, 2017 Friday December 22, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Monday January 8, 2018 Friday February 9, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 19, 2018 Friday March 23, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 9, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Monday July 23, 2018
Summer Holidays

Schools within the city of Barnsley and the surrounding area fall under the jurisdiction of Barnsley Metropolitan Council who run the various stages of education and set the school term dates each year. Barnsley is one of your district councils in South Yorkshire and has 53 nursery units for children up to age four as well as 79 primary schools including 31 academies. There are 12 secondary schools, four of which are academies and the Penistone Grammar ALC which also offers sixth form. There are two special schools within the area. The 2017 school holidays calendar includes October half term from 24-28th as well as the Christmas holidays 2016 from 19th December to 2nd January. There is a February half term 20th-24th and a May half term from 29th May through 2nd June. There is the Easter Break 2017 from 10th to 21st April and the 2017 summer holidays begin on 26th July.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Barnsley are decided by the individual schools. Barnsley Data Source

Inset Days