term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Calderdale Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Calderdale Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Calderdale LEA.


Calderdale Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Calderdale LEA.

2016/2017 Calderdale Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 5, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Saturday February 25, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Tuesday July 25, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Calderdale Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 27, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday November 6, 2017 Friday December 22, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Monday January 8, 2018 Friday February 16, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 26, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Tuesday July 24, 2018
Summer Holidays

Calderdale schools are overseen by the Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council, one of the five council areas in West Yorkshire. The council set school term dates and holidays each year, though some schools do have the ability to change these to suit their requirements, such as academies and voluntary aided schools. Currently, there are a total of 117 schools within the council area. This number is composed of 88 primary schools, 18 secondary schools and six special schools. There is also one further education college, the Calderdale College within the area. School started on 5th September and the October half term is from 21st to 31st of the month. Christmas holiday 2016 run from 16th December until 3rd January and the spring term has the half term break from 17th to 27th February. The final summer term runs from 24th April until 25th July and there is the May half term from 26th May until 5th June.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Calderdale are decided by the individual schools. Calderdale Data Source

Inset Days