term time holiday law
Terms of Use Please check the dates with your School before booking a holiday

Sheffield Council & LEA School Holidays and Term Dates

Sheffield Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Sheffield LEA.


Sheffield Council School Term and Holiday Dates are sourced from the Sheffield LEA.

2016/2017 Sheffield Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Thursday September 1, 2016 Friday October 21, 2016
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday October 31, 2016 Friday December 16, 2016
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Tuesday January 3, 2017 Friday February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 27, 2017 Friday April 7, 2017
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 24, 2017 Friday May 26, 2017
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 5, 2017 Friday July 21, 2017
Summer Holidays

2017/2018 Sheffield Council School Holiday and Term Dates


Term / Holiday First Day Last Day
Autumn Term Dates Monday September 4, 2017 Friday October 27, 2017
Autumn Half Term
Autumn Term Dates Monday November 6, 2017 Friday December 22, 2017
Christmas Holidays
Spring Term Dates Monday January 8, 2018 Friday February 16, 2018
Spring Half Term
Spring Term Dates Monday February 26, 2018 Thursday March 29, 2018
Easter Holidays
Summer Term Dates Monday April 16, 2018 Friday May 25, 2018
Summer Half Term
Summer Term Dates Monday June 4, 2018 Tuesday July 24, 2018
Summer Holidays

Sheffield City Council is the local authority responsible for the city and immediate areas and is one of the councils within South Yorkshire. It is based in Sheffield Town Hall and controls school holiday dates for a total of 193 schools. This number comprises 138 primary and 32 secondary schools as well as 2 nurseries, 12 special schools and 2 further education colleges. There are also two universities, Sheffield Hallam University and the University of Sheffield. The first half of the autumn term starts 1st September until October half term 21st October then again from 28th October until 16th December. Christmas holidays 2016 last until 3rd January and the first half of the spring term includes the February half term from 20th February. The term finishes at Easter on 7th April and starts again on 21st April. The final summer term includes the May half term holiday the week of the 29th as well as May Day on the 1st May then ends on 21st July.

The Inset Days for the Local Education Authority Schools in Sheffield are decided by the individual schools. Sheffield Data Source

Inset Days